

KULR Technology Group sold its last 764 Bitcoin for about $58.6 million, closing a two-year corporate treasury experiment and returning the battery maker to a balance sheet with no direct exposure to the cryptocurrency. The Webster, Texas-based company sold the coins in open-market transactions to unrelated buyers between Aug. 20 and Sept. 11 at a weighted average price of about $76,633 per Bitcoin, according to an 8-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. The sales represented all of KULR's remaining holdings, and the company said it no longer holds BTC as of the filing date. The exit completes an unwind that began in July, when KULR sold roughly 333 Bitcoin for about $21.5 million at an average of $64,538 per coin. About $20 million of those proceeds went to repay a credit facility with Coinbase that had been collateralized against the company's Bitcoin. Combined, the two tranches generated about $80.1 million in gross proceeds from approximately 1,097 BTC. The second batch cleared at a price roughly 19% higher than the first. "The filing does not disclose the coins' cost basis or whether the final disposal produced a realized gain or loss," KULR said in the 8-K, which recorded the sale under Item 2.01, Completion of Acquisition or Disposition of Assets. The company described the sales as part of its ongoing treasury management operations and did not rule out rebuilding a position later. The proceeds arrive as KULR's core business is under strain. The company posted an adjusted loss of $0.47 per share in the second quarter of 2026, far wider than the $0.08 loss analysts expected, on revenue of $2.08 million against a forecast of $9 million, according to Investing.com. KULR shares traded at $2.38 on the filing date, down 47% over the prior year, with negative free cash flow of $46 million over the trailing twelve months. ## A 1,097 BTC unwind, in two tranches KULR began accumulating Bitcoin in late 2024, joining a wave of small-cap public companies that copied MicroStrategy's playbook of converting treasury cash into the cryptocurrency. It pushed holdings past 1,000 BTC through direct purchases and mining operations, layering a crypto revenue line onto its thermal management and battery safety business, which serves aerospace, defense and electric vehicle customers. The reversal became visible in August, when KULR disclosed it had sold roughly 333 Bitcoin after June 30. The company also shut down its Bitcoin mining operation as management redirected capital toward the energy platform. The Sept. 11 sale removed the remaining direct link between KULR's treasury and Bitcoin's price. For a company of KULR's size, the swings cut both ways. Bitcoin traded near $78,626 as of Sept. 14, up 2.45% over 24 hours and 24.63% over 30 days, according to CryptoSlate data — a rebound that came after KULR had already committed to selling. The company captured $76,633 on average across the final tranche, below the current spot level. The read-across matters more than the dollar figure. At roughly $58.6 million, the sale is a rounding error against Bitcoin's daily trading volume, but it is a data point in a broader reassessment by public companies that built crypto-heavy balance sheets during easier financing conditions. Several listed firms have revisited those positions as equity-market premiums to net asset value compressed and debt collateralized by Bitcoin came under pressure. ## What the cash buys, and what it does not KULR has not disclosed how it will deploy the proceeds. The filing leaves open whether management channels the funds into operations, debt reduction, acquisitions or other balance-sheet priorities — a gap that keeps the focus on whether the energy business can convert the liquidity into operating returns. Alongside the Bitcoin disclosure, KULR's compensation committee approved a grant of 200,000 time-based restricted stock units to Chief Financial Officer Michael Kimel under the 2025 Equity Incentive Plan, effective Sept. 10. Each unit represents a contingent right to one share of common stock, vesting in eight equal semi-annual installments over four years beginning Dec. 6, subject to continued service. The structural question for the corporate treasury cohort is whether KULR is an outlier or an early mover. Companies that funded Bitcoin purchases with debt face the same arithmetic KULR did: collateral values that move against the loan, equity premiums that can vanish, and core businesses that need capital. KULR's answer was to sell into strength on the second tranche and retire the liability on the first. Bitcoin's next test sits near $81,000, a level Coinbase CEO Brian Armstrong has flagged as the threshold before a move toward $400,000, according to CryptoSlate. Whether corporate supply stays a trickle or becomes a trend will show up in the 8-K filings of the next treasury holder that blinks. This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice.

Bitcoin traded near $80,000 on Monday as leveraged positions piled up on both sides of the market, leaving the Federal Reserve's September rate decision to determine whether the token breaks through $82,000 or slides toward $76,000, according to a Bitfinex analysis published Sept. 14. Short exposure above $82,000 has climbed 43%, the exchange's research desk said, while long liquidation clusters sit at $75,000 to $76,000. The two boundaries bracket a market that has spent recent sessions pinned near $80,000, with neither side willing to commit ahead of the Fed's guidance on the path of borrowing costs. "Positioning this concentrated on both sides of spot means the Fed's forward guidance, not the decision itself, decides which cluster fires first," the Bitfinex note said, adding that thin spot selling could accelerate any move through the upper band. The asymmetry matters because the two clusters are not equally populated. A break above $82,000 would force short covering into a book with limited spot supply to absorb it, a combination that historically produces outsized single-session moves. A drop toward $75,000 to $76,000 would trigger long liquidations that add selling pressure to an already declining market, deepening the drawdown rather than cushioning it. Treasury yields and energy prices remain the secondary inputs. Higher yields raise the opportunity cost of holding non-yielding assets, and Bitcoin has tracked the 10-year Treasury note's direction closely through 2026. Energy costs feed directly into the inflation prints that shape the Fed's calculus, giving crude and natural gas an indirect but measurable influence on crypto risk appetite. Bitcoin's correlation with Ether and the broader altcoin complex means the outcome will not stay contained. A short squeeze above $82,000 would likely lift ETH and large-cap tokens harder than BTC itself, while a long cascade toward $76,000 would hit leveraged altcoin positions first, since those books carry thinner liquidity and wider liquidation bands. The Fed's decision lands with crypto market participants already cautious. Funding rates have flattened and spot volumes have thinned in the sessions leading into the meeting, a pattern that typically precedes a volatility expansion rather than a continuation of range-bound trading. Options markets have priced elevated implied moves around the event date. For traders, the practical read is that the $80,000 midpoint is not a level to defend but a fulcrum. Positioning data from Bitfinex suggests the market has already chosen its two outcomes and is waiting for the Fed to select one. Whichever cluster is triggered, the resulting move is likely to overshoot the boundary itself, because liquidation engines execute at market and the spot book on the other side is thin. This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice.

TokenLogic wants Aave's treasury to eat the first 33 ETH of bad debt on Core WETH, plus 15,000 USDC and 15,000 USDT on the two stablecoin reserves, before any outside capital is touched. The Sept. 11 ARFC, titled "Umbrella on Aave V4: Coverage Framework and Initial Market Parametrization," sets those figures as "deficit offsets" — the layer the Aave DAO absorbs ahead of volunteer underwriters. TokenLogic is an active Aave DAO service provider and authored the framework. The offsets sit beneath coverage targets of 800 ETH for Core WETH and 400,000 each for Core USDC and Core USDT. TokenLogic sized those targets for six to eight weeks of expected loan growth. They are configuration goals, not balances already committed to protecting lenders — a distinction that matters because the DAO layer is the only part of the stack that is funded by definition. Underwriters would supply the rest. Their capital keeps earning supply yield until it is needed, at which point coverage is executed by burning supplied Hub shares. Additional rewards compensate them for accepting that loss risk. Bad debt itself arises when liquidation exhausts a borrower's collateral but leaves debt unpaid. ## The boundary is the reserve, not the token Coverage attaches to a specific Hub asset, not to a token symbol. USDC supplied to the Core Hub would be protected; the same USDC supplied to another Hub would not be, and capital allocated to one Hub asset cannot clear another reserve's deficit. Eligibility also runs wider than the protected reserve's own borrowers. It includes all borrowing from each covered reserve, including loans originated through Spokes — the components where debt is created — whose collateral sits in other Hubs. Those credit lines still expose the Core reserve that supplies the borrowed asset. TokenLogic declined to recommend initial general-purpose coverage for USDG or frxUSD. It cited uncertainty over incentive-sensitive lending activity and doubt that it could attract underwriters willing to transfer risk away from existing suppliers. For frxUSD it flagged a concentrated, issuer-linked supplier base. Other Hubs' reserves were left out for reasons including limited incremental protection and narrow supplier bases. None of the exclusions imply the loans lack collateral or that losses are imminent. The exit terms carry their own risk. Each proposed market specifies a 20-day cooldown followed by a two-day withdrawal window. Aave's withdrawal guidance says participants who miss the window must start another cooldown and wait a further 20 days. Aave's Umbrella documentation states that staked assets remain exposed to slashing during cooldown while continuing to earn rewards — so the extra yield buys both potential capital loss and restricted access to funds. ## What the DAO is actually putting on its balance sheet The headline exposure is small in dollar terms. At WETH's $3,588.42 print, 33 ETH is roughly $118,000, and the two stablecoin offsets total $30,000 — about $148,000 of first-loss capital across three markets. AAVE traded at $130.26, up 2.71% over 24 hours, with $217.69 million in volume, up 42.34%, according to CryptoSlate market data. The precedent is the larger item. Aave's DAO would become the standing first-loss absorber for its three deepest Core lending markets, and the framework is designed to be extended: TokenLogic proposes monitoring conditions after activation and reassessing after three months, with excluded markets reconsidered as lending activity matures and supplier bases diversify. That reassessment window is where the design gets tested. Aave's own Monad deployment shows how quickly a reserve's cash position can move — the USDT0 pool there held $55.9 million supplied against $51.5 million borrowed as of a Sept. 12 Aavescan snapshot, leaving roughly $4.4 million unborrowed, or 7.9% of supply, while displaying a 6.10% total APR. TokenLogic's Sept. 11 report on that market recorded USDT0 supply peaking at $167.3 million on Aug. 15 and falling to about $57.2 million over roughly three weeks, with debt holding between $53 million and $62 million. A deficit offset sized at 15,000 USDC is a rounding error against a reserve that can shed $110 million of supply in three weeks. The proposal's real bet is that a visible DAO backstop changes depositor behavior enough that the layer never gets used — and that volunteer underwriters show up to price the risk the DAO has agreed to take first. This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice.